The Texas Ground Water Association’s 62nd annual convention and trade show took place Jan. 27-30 in Galveston, Texas, and drew a crowd of 600. Industry professionals were able to visit with more than 90 exhibitors displaying their wares on the trade show floor. Twelve one-hour sessions of continuing education were offered, and 484 people took advantage.

New officers were selected to guide the association in the next year. Ray Whisenant Jr. (Whisenant & Lyle Water Services Inc., Dripping Springs, Texas) is president; the president-elect is Dale Felder (Felder Water Well & Pump Service LLC, Angleton, Texas); Ken Grant (Hi Plains Drilling Inc., Abernathy, Texas) is vice president; and Scott Weisinger (Weisinger Water Well Inc., Conroe, Texas) is secretary/treasurer.

Always a highlight at the convention is the presentation of the Owen F. Jensen Award, which goes to the Groundwater Contractor of the Year. Recognized for his contributions to the association and the industry was Randy Roberts (Pipe Creek Water Well Co., Pipe Creek, Texas). Presenting the award was Ronnie Hensley (Global Pumps & Equipment Ltd., Abernathy, Texas), who said, “Randy Roberts is the type of person who will assist you in any endeavors, and exemplifies the mission and objectives of the association. He is a man of character and integrity, and is highly respected by his peers.”

Looking ahead to 2010, the Texas ground water industry will gather for its 63rd annual convention, this time in San Marcos, Texas, Jan. 27-29.