NGWA Convention attracted over 5,000 registrations.

Robert W. Reichart oliver Award Recipient
More than 5,000 people, including 2,100 contractors, journeyed to Las Vegas, NV, Dec. 13-15 to attend the 52nd annual National Ground Water Association (NGWA) Convention and Exposition.

Dr. Emil Frind M. king Hubbert Award Recipient
The NGWA Convention and Exposition also featured 264 exhibitors who utilized 56,499 square feet of floor space in the Las Vegas Convention Center. The convention theme was 'Exploring New Possibilities.' The number of contractors, the number of exhibitors, and the floor space used for the trade show are all records for the event and the 5,011 registrations was the third highest total in the Convention's 52-year history, according to NGWA officials

Dr. John Isbister Life Time Member Award
Besides the records set at the Convention, the event also included a number of additional firsts, such as the first time two keynote speakers have been featured and the first annual rig-lighting ceremony featuring a Pulstar pump hoist which was the centerpiece for a dramatic light and sound show.

Gerald Sherman Life Time Member Award
The 2000 Convention featured Hans-Olaf Pfannkuch, a professor of hydrology at the University of Minnesota who presented a speech on "Pump Tests for Practical People" as the first speaker in NGWA's new McIllhiney Lecture Series.

Thomas Stevens Life Time Member Award
Yet another first for the Convention was that it was held in conjunction with a meeting of the Association of Ground Water Scientists and Engineer (AGWSE). The AGWSE meeting's theme was "Ground Water: A Trans-Boundary, Strategic And Geopolitical Resource."

Joseph J. Hogan, Jr. NGWA Individual Safety Award Recipient
The NGWA Convention also marked the start of Roger Renner's term as NGWA President. He is president of E.H. Renner & Sons, a drilling company in Elk River, MN.

Renner succeeded Robert Reichart as president of the national organization.

The two special keynote speakers literally got the Convention off to a fast start as Ken Schmidt, former head of communications for Harley-Davidson Motor Co., began his speech by roaring to the podium aboard a gleaming, new 2001 Harley-Davidson motorcycle. Schmidt's topic was "The Rise, Fall, and Rise of Harley-Davidson," he described how the company executed a widely-acclaimed turnaround through various marketing techniques and other activities.

Peter Thein Life Time Member Award
Harrod Blank, the noted Ìart carOO designer, film maker and lecturer, presented a keynote address consisting mainly of a fast-paced, lighthearted look at slides of numerous specially decorated vehicles. He used the slides to demonstrate how attendees could use such special vehicles to draw attention to themselves and their businesses

Many special awards were presented during the NGWA Convention, including presentation of the Oliver Award, the most prestigious honor given by NGWA, to Robert W. Reichart for his many contributions to the groundwater industry and presentation of the M. King Hubbert Award to Dr. Emil Frind for his contributions to scientific research on groundwater.

Life member awards were presented to Dr. R. Allen Freeze, Dr. John Isbister, Gerald Sherman, Thomas Stevens, and Peter Thein for their efforts in furtherance of the groundwater industry and/or contributions to NGWA

The NGWA Individual Safety Award was presented to Joseph J. Hogan Jr. who had a major impact on the re-writing and publication of the revised NGWA Safety manual.

The Technology Award was presented to Dr. Don Vroblesky, Hydrologist with US Geological Survey (USGS) for his invention of an inexpensive diffusion sampler.

The Equipment Design Award went to the Geoprobe 66DT design team for the development of a new direct push machine.

The Suppliers Division award was given to Sherwood Hall, President of Atlantic Drilling Supplies, Inc. The Manufacturers Division Award was presented to Sam Geffen for his more than 50 years work in the groundwater industry.

Special Recognition Awards were presented to Richard E. Schramm, President of Schramm, Inc. and Kermit Janssen, who is retired from CertainTeed.

The AGWSE Keith E. Anderson Award was presented to Michael A. Apgar.

The NGWA Supply Award was presented to the Cape May, NJ. Ground Water Desalinization Project, Metcalf & Eddy Inc. and the Outstanding Project in Ground Water Protection Award was presented to Cape May, NJ. Ground Water Desalinization Plant, Metcalf & Eddy Inc. and Ground Water and Salt Intrusion Management at a Coastal Power Plant, Gulf Power and Southern Generation. The Outstanding Project in Ground Water Remediation Award was given to Enhanced Western Ground Water Control System, Golder Associates Inc and Modern Landfill.

AGWSE's John Hem Excellence in Science and Engineering Award was presented to Dr. Steven E. Ingebritsen and Dr. Ward E. Sanford for their work as authors for the textbook Groundwater In Geologic Processes.

In addition to all the other special events, four full days of conferences, workshops and programs kept Convention attendees busy trying to take in as many of the free informational sessions and learn as mush as possible during the NGWA and AGWSE meetings.