Fort Wayne, IN. (March 08, 2024) – Franklin Electric Co., Inc. (NASDAQ: FELE) recently partnered with Wiggins Brothers Well Drilling in Central Florida on a critical biodiversity project intended to remove harmful phosphorous from the waters flowing out of Lake Apopka into the rest of the Harris Chain of Lakes. The project is part of the Lake County Water Authority’s (LCWA) long-term Nutrient Reduction Facility (NuRF) plan. The LCWA, in cooperation with the St. Johns Water Management District and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, implemented the NuRF to counteract years of agriculture and fertilizer runoff contributing to algae buildup harming native aquatic life.

“Greg Wiggins and his company have been actively involved in many of these critical cleanup projects in Central Florida, and we’re thrilled to play a role,” said Keith Tomaszewski, Territory Manager at Franklin Electric. “His understanding of how pumping systems can aid in environmental efforts is a great example of the important work water industry professionals do daily.” 

LCWA Chairman Robert Hendrick was complimentary of the efforts. "I would like to thank our stakeholders for being invaluable partners and for their desire to mitigate the harmful impacts to our precious waterways," he said.  

Since 2009, the NuRF has treated over 97 billion gallons of water, removing over 50,000 pounds of phosphorus from the Harris Chain of Lakes. This effort has resulted in substantial water quality improvement from Central Florida to the Eastern Seaboard.

About Franklin Electric

Franklin Electric is a global leader in the production and marketing of systems and components for the movement of water and energy. Recognized as a technical leader in its products and services, Franklin Electric serves customers around the world in residential, commercial, agricultural, industrial, municipal, and fueling applications. Franklin Electric is proud to be named in Newsweek’s lists of America’s Most Responsible Companies and Most Trustworthy Companies for 2023 and America’s Climate Leaders 2023 by USA Today.