The Water Well Trust (WWT) has announced that it is expanding the number of Georgia counties eligible to for water well assistance from six to 10.

In 2015, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) awarded a $140,000 matching grant to WWT for a project to increase potable water availability to households in six rural Georgia counties, including Colquitt, Hancock, Jones, Monroe, Murray and Wilcox. The WWT has now expanded eligibility to another four counties:  Worth, Grady, Twiggs and Washington.

The USDA grant monies will provide long-term, low-interest loans to applicants seeking new or improved water wells in the 10-county area, including several families that have been on a waiting list since 2012. 

To be eligible to receive a WWT loan, applicants must be the owner and occupant of the home as their primary residence. In addition, the applicant's household income must not exceed 100 percent of the median non-metropolitan household income for the state in which the applicant resides. The 2015 Non-Metropolitan median household income for Georgia is $46,100. The income criteria apply to both the applicant and all other occupants of the home. 

The Water Well Trust is working with the Georgia Department of Community Affairs, Georgia Environmental Finance Authority, the Georgia USDA office and county administrators in each designated county to notify potential beneficiaries of the program.

Prospective applicants can download the application form and instruction letter from the Water Well Trust website at under "Apply" at the top of the home page. 

The Water Systems Council works to protect groundwater and to ensure private well users in the United States have safe, reliable drinking water. For more information, visit