At a summit organized by the Romanian government and the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), delegates agreed to work together to protect the environment of the Danube basin and encourage sustainable development. The presidents of Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, and Ukraine signed the declaration, together with government representatives from Yugoslavia, Hungary, Czech Republic, Poland, Austria and Germany. The 1,750-mile-long Danube is the source of drinking water for up to 10 million people.